InternationalT20World Cup

“Papua New Guinea Banks on Experience in T20 World Cup 2024 Squad Selection”

Papua New Guinea has announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, with Assad Vala leading the team for the second consecutive tournament. Vala, who also led the team in the 2021 edition, will have leg-spinning all-rounder CJ Amini as his vice-captain this time around. Ten players from the 2021 campaign have retained their spots, with Jack Gardner, a reserve member from the previous tournament, also making it to the final squad.

Vala expressed confidence in the team’s preparation for this year’s tournament, highlighting the improved training conditions compared to the challenges faced during the Covid-affected 2021 edition. The team’s unbeaten run in the qualifiers, winning six consecutive matches on home soil, has further boosted their morale and readiness for the tournament.

Tatenda Taibu, the newly appointed head coach and former Zimbabwe international, has largely retained the squad that secured qualification, with 14 members from the qualifying group making it to the final squad. Chad Soper, who featured in the 2021 T20 World Cup, has returned to the squad after showcasing impressive performances in recent tours to Malaysia and Oman.

Notably, the squad includes eight recognized all-rounders, providing a balance of both batting and bowling options. Young left-arm orthodox spinner John Kariko, who has prior experience in West Indies conditions from the U19 World Cup in 2022, adds depth to the bowling department.

Papua New Guinea faces a challenging start to their campaign with a match against hosts West Indies on June 2. Subsequent matches against Uganda, Afghanistan, and New Zealand will test their mettle in the group stage. With high hopes and improved preparation, Papua New Guinea aims to make a mark in the tournament and secure their first-ever victory on the world stage.

Papua New Guinea squad: Assadollah Vala (c), CJ Amini (vc), Alei Nao, Chad Soper, Hila Vare, Hiri Hiri, Jack Gardner, John Kariko, Kabua Vagi Morea, Kipling Doriga, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Sema Kamea, Sese Bau, Tony Ura

Related Articles

Back to top button