InternationalT20World Cup

“Bangladesh Welcomes Back Fast Bowling All-Rounder to T20I Squad for Zimbabwe Series”

Bangladesh has announced a formidable squad for the upcoming T20I series against Zimbabwe in May, with a focus on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Mohammad Saifuddin, the fast bowling all-rounder, has been recalled to the T20I squad after a hiatus due to injury. Saifuddin, who has represented Bangladesh in 34 T20Is, last played for the national team in October 2022. His return follows a successful stint with Fortune Barishal in the Bangladesh Premier League, where his performances contributed to their title-winning campaign.

Another notable inclusion in the squad is ODI opener Tanzid Hasan, who is set to make his T20I debut. Led by Najmul Hossain Shanto, the squad is missing Shakib Al Hasan, who is expected to join the team later in the series. Shakib took a break from cricket after the conclusion of the 2023 ODI World Cup due to an eye condition and a finger injury. He made his return to international cricket during the Chattogram Test against Sri Lanka earlier this month.

The series against Zimbabwe will comprise five T20Is, with the first three matches scheduled to be held in Chattogram on May 3, 5, and 7. The remaining two matches will take place in Dhaka on May 10 and 12. With the T20 World Cup on the horizon, Bangladesh will be aiming to fine-tune their squad and strategies in preparation for the prestigious tournament.

Bangladesh squad for first three T20Is: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Litton Kumer Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali Anik, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Parvez Hossain Emon, Tanvir Islam, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin.

Related Articles

Back to top button