InternationalT20World Cup

“Darren Sammy Eyes Historic Nepal Tour to Fine-Tune T20 World Cup Squad”

In a landmark event, a West Indies representative side, comprised of T20 specialists, is set to tour Nepal for a five-match T20 series at the end of April. Despite being an ‘A’ tour, the team will feature seasoned T20 players such as Fabian Allen, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, and Hayden Walsh. This tour holds significance as it will aid both teams in their preparations for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

With several regular West Indies players participating in the Indian Premier League, including skipper Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Nicholas Pooran, Kyle Mayers, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph, and Shimron Hetmyer, this tour provides an opportunity for other players to gain valuable game-time ahead of the home T20 World Cup.

Daren Sammy, the white-ball coach of West Indies, expressed confidence that the five-match series against Nepal would assist the team in defining roles and assessing their depth. He emphasized the significance of this tour from a coaching perspective, especially with nine players engaged in the IPL, enabling a thorough evaluation of the team’s T20 depth.

The team will be led by Roston Chase, who has yet to cement a regular place in the T20I setup. However, his impactful performance against Australia in Perth, where he scored a brisk 37 and picked up 2/19, showcased his potential. Lead selector Desmond Haynes commended Chase for his work ethic and leadership qualities, highlighting his progress since making his T20I debut in October 2021.

The A team will be under the guidance of former West Indies international Floyd Reifer, with Rayon Griffith serving as his assistant. West Indies are placed in Group C of the T20 World Cup, alongside Uganda, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, and Afghanistan, commencing their campaign against PNG in Providence on June 2.

West Indies A squad for the tour of Nepal: Roston Chase (c), Alick Athanaze (vc), Fabian Allen, Kadeem Alleyne, Joshua Bishop, Keacy Carty, Johnson Charles, Mark Deyal, Andre Fletcher, Matthew Forde, Obed McCoy, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh

Related Articles

Back to top button