InternationalODIT20WomenWorld Cup

“5 Players Return to Pakistan Squad for Epic Clash Against West Indies!”

Pakistan has announced its 16-member squads for both ODIs and T20Is against the West Indies women’s team, scheduled to commence in mid-April. The series will kick off with a three-match ODI series, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25. Following the ODIs, there will be five T20Is aimed at preparing the teams for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup later this year. All matches will take place at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi.

Experienced players Sidra Nawaz and Ayesha Zafar have earned recalls to the T20I squad, alongside Gull Feroza, Rameen Shamim, and Tuba Hassan. Tuba has also been included in the ODI squad for the series. However, leg-spinner Ghulam Fatima has been rested to aid in her recovery from minor injuries sustained in a recent car accident. Bismah Maroof, another senior player involved in the accident, has been named in both squads but will undergo a fitness test next week before being considered for selection.

Chief selector Saleem Jaffar highlighted the return of five players to the squads based on their performances in the domestic tournament and their skills demonstrated in the camp. He emphasized the significance of the series against the West Indies, particularly the ODIs as part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25. Pakistan aims to secure maximum points in the series to enhance its chances of direct qualification for next year’s ICC Women’s ODI World Cup.

Jaffar also mentioned that the series presents an opportunity for players to showcase their skills and secure berths for the upcoming England tour. The ongoing domestic one-day tournament continues to provide opportunities for players not involved in the series against the West Indies to perform strongly and stake claims for places in the England series.

ODI squad: Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof (subject to fitness), Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Muneeba Ali, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hassan, Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar.

T20I squad: Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Zafar, Bismah Maroof (subject to fitness), Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali (wk), Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Rameen Shamim, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Tuba Hassan and Umm-e-Hani.

Related Articles

Back to top button