Several prominent players miss out as Australia announces the men’s players to receive new contracts.

Cricket Australia (CA) announced the list of players offered national contracts for the 2024-25 season, with several experienced players missing out. Marcus Stoinis, a veteran all-rounder, was the most prominent name not to receive a new contract.

Stoinis has been dealing with back injuries recently but was part of Australia’s victorious squad in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup last year. Despite his absence from the contract list, he remains under consideration for selection in the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in June.

Joining Stoinis on the list of players without new contracts are Ashton Agar, Marcus Harris, Michael Neser, and recently retired David Warner. Instead, Cricket Australia has opted to offer contracts to a few new faces.

All-rounders Matt Short and Aaron Hardie, who were upgraded to the contract list during the previous summer, have secured new deals. Fast bowler Nathan Ellis and young right-arm bowler Xavier Bartlett also earned full-time contracts after impressing, particularly Bartlett’s performance against the West Indies earlier this year.

George Bailey, the selection chair for Cricket Australia, expressed confidence in the players awarded new contracts, highlighting their promising performances and their potential for long and successful international careers.

“Matt, Aaron, and Xavier have made a strong impression in their early international careers. Their performances and adaptation to the international stage have been impressive,” Bailey stated.

“The selection panel believes they have bright futures ahead of them and are deserving of their contracts as they continue to strive towards establishing themselves as regulars in the Australian team.”

Cricket Australia contracted men’s players 2024-25: Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Jhye Richardson, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

Related Articles

Back to top button