“MCG Set to Host Inaugural Day-Night Test During Women’s Ashes”

Cricket Australia (CA) has unveiled the schedule for the highly anticipated multi-format Women’s Ashes series, promising an exciting addition to the upcoming home summer of cricket.

In a historic move, the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is set to host a day-night Test match for the first time ever as part of the Women’s Ashes series. This singular Test encounter between Australia and England holds special significance as it marks the return of Women’s Test cricket to the MCG after a staggering 76 years, with the last match held in 1949 featuring the same fierce rivals, Australia and England.

Scheduled to commence on 30 January 2025, this one-off Test match will serve as the grand finale of the Women’s Ashes series, capping off what promises to be a thrilling showdown between the two cricketing powerhouses. Preceding the Test match, the series will kick off with three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) on 12 January, followed by three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) starting on 20 January.

The multi-format points system, designed to intensify competition and reward consistent performance across different formats, will allocate four points for a Test victory, two points for a drawn Test, and two points for each win in the limited-overs matches.

Australia, the current holders of the Women’s Ashes title, clinched the trophy in a gripping series contested in England. The closely fought battle concluded with both teams deadlocked at 8-8, setting the stage for an eagerly awaited rematch on Australian soil.

With the revival of Women’s Test cricket at one of the world’s most renowned cricketing venues and the added excitement of the multi-format series, the Women’s Ashes promises to captivate cricket enthusiasts and players alike, offering a spectacle of elite sporting competition and historic moments.

Full schedule:

ODI Series:

12 January: North Sydney Oval, Sydney (Day)

14 January: Junction Oval, Melbourne (Day)

17 January: Bellerive Oval, Hobart (Day)

T20I Series:

20 January: SCG, Sydney (Night)

23 January: Manuka Oval, Canberra (Night)

25 January: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Night)

One-off Test Match

30 January-2 February: MCG, Melbourne (Day/Night)

Related Articles

Back to top button