“Sri Lanka Appoints Interim Captain for Bangladesh T20I Series”

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced a 17-member squad for the T20I leg of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh. Charith Asalanka will lead the side in the first two T20Is in the absence of regular captain Wanindu Hasaranga, who has been handed a two-match ban for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct.

Hasaranga incurred three demerit points and a 50 per cent fine of match fee following the T20I series against Afghanistan. The incident occurred after the third T20I between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in Dambulla when Hasaranga approached umpire Lyndon Hanibal to express criticism regarding a decision involving a high full toss not called a no-ball.

Moreover, opener Pathum Nissanka, initially part of the squad, will miss the Bangladesh tour due to an injury sustained during the Afghanistan series. He will be replaced by Avishka Fernando.

Squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Schedule for the T20I Series:

All games will be played in Sylhet

1st T20I: 4 March
2nd T20I: 6 March
3rd T20I: 9 March,

Related Articles

Back to top button