“Injury Blow for New Zealand as Williamson Forced to Step Down – Replacement Switch Unveiled”

Central Districts’ batsman Josh Clarkson has been withdrawn from the New Zealand squad for the third T20I against Pakistan due to a shoulder injury. Originally chosen to replace New Zealand captain Kane Williamson for the third T20I, Clarkson’s injury has led to the inclusion of Will Young in the Black Caps’ squad.

Kane Williamson will miss the third T20I to manage a knee issue that has troubled him for most of the past 12 months, with plans to return for the final two games. Will Young, a regular in the New Zealand ODI setup and a participant in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, has been brought in as his replacement. Young has featured in 14 T20Is, accumulating 260 runs at an average of 20.

The updated squad includes players for specific matches:

  • Kane Williamson (c) (matches 1, 2, 4, and 5)
  • Finn Allen
  • Mark Chapman
  • Will Young (match 3 only)
  • Devon Conway (wk)
  • Lockie Ferguson (matches 3, 4, and 5)
  • Matt Henry
  • Adam Milne
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ben Sears (matches 1 and 2)
  • Tim Seifert (wk)
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee

Mitchell Santner is expected to captain New Zealand in Williamson’s absence. The remaining matches of the series are scheduled as follows:

  • 2nd T20I – January 14, Seddon Park, Hamilton
  • 3rd T20I – January 17, University Oval, Dunedin
  • 4th T20I – January 19, Hagley Oval, Christchurch
  • 5th T20I – January 21, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

New Zealand secured a convincing 46-run victory in the opening game of the series in Auckland, where Tim Southee made history by becoming the first player to reach 150 T20I wickets.

Related Articles

Back to top button