“Australia’s Test Squad Shake-up: New Opener Secured for West Indies Series”

Australia Announces Squad for West Indies Test Series; Steve Smith to Open

Australia has named a 13-player squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against the West Indies, set to begin on January 17. The squad includes the return of Cameron Green to the playing XI and features Steve Smith in an opening role alongside Usman Khawaja.

Matt Renshaw has been included in the squad, likely as cover following the retirement of David Warner. However, with Green’s confirmation in the playing XI, Renshaw may serve as a backup.

Chair of Selectors George Bailey confirmed the composition, stating, “Cameron Green will come into the playing XI for the Test in Adelaide in a squad also containing Scott Boland and Matthew Renshaw.”

The decision to include Steve Smith as an opener follows his expressed interest in the role during discussions after the final Test match against Pakistan in Sydney. Bailey emphasized Smith’s eagerness to open and acknowledged it as a significant chapter in his career.

“We have selected a team we believe contains the best six batters in the country,” Bailey added.

Smith, who has not opened in Test cricket before, has featured in various batting positions from No. 3 to No. 9, displaying versatility in his career. The 34-year-old is set to partner with Khawaja at the top of the order.

Bailey highlighted Smith’s selflessness in embracing a new challenge and stated, “It’s selfless that someone who has had so much success in one position or a couple of positions in the middle order is open and willing and hungry to have a crack at something new and something different.”

Cameron Green is expected to bat at No. 4, a position where he has excelled in domestic First-Class cricket.

Australia also named an ODI squad for the subsequent series against the West Indies, with Steve Smith leading the group fresh off their Cricket World Cup win. Pat Cummins will sit out of the ODI series.

Test Squad:

  • Pat Cummins (c)
  • Scott Boland
  • Alex Carey
  • Cameron Green
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Travis Head (vc)
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Matthew Renshaw
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc

ODI Squad:

  • Steve Smith (c)
  • Sean Abbott
  • Nathan Ellis
  • Cameron Green
  • Aaron Hardie
  • Travis Head (vc)
  • Josh Inglis
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Lance Morris
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Matt Short
  • Adam Zampa

Related Articles

Back to top button