InternationalU-19World Cup

“Demystifying the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024: Your Comprehensive Guide to Cricket’s Rising Stars”

The ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is poised to commence on January 19, 2024, featuring a doubleheader that sees hosts South Africa facing off against the West Indies and Ireland taking on the USA.

In its 15th edition, the tournament will showcase the emerging talents from 16 countries competing in 48 matches across five venues, providing a glimpse into the future of international cricket.

Groups and Squads:

  • Group A: Bangladesh, India, Ireland, USA
  • Group B: England, Scotland, South Africa, West Indies
  • Group C: Australia, Namibia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe
  • Group D: Afghanistan, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan

All squads for the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup have been officially announced.

Format: This edition introduces a new format, where the top three teams from each of the four groups progress to a Super Six stage starting January 30. Two groups of six teams will compete, determining the Semi-Finalists and Finalists. Teams finishing at the bottom will engage in placement games to determine positions 13 to 16.

South Africa, hosting the U19 World Cup for the third time, previously did so in 1998 and 2020. Warm-up fixtures for all teams are scheduled in South Africa between January 13-17.

Key Dates:

  • Group A and Group B action begins on January 19.
  • Group D’s opening match (Afghanistan vs. Pakistan) is scheduled for January 20.
  • Group C, based in Kimberley, starts on January 21.

The Super Six stage commences on January 30, leading to Semi-finals on February 6 and the Final on February 11, all taking place at Willowmoore Park in Benoni.

Tournament History: The U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup began in 1988 as the Youth Cricket World Cup. Australia emerged as the inaugural champions. India, the defending champions, have been the most successful side with five titles, followed by Australia with three. Pakistan has won twice, and Bangladesh, England, South Africa, and West Indies each secured one title.

Related Articles

Back to top button